frangelico balls

In the grand old tradition leading up to Christmas, I’ve started baking again. Well, to be honest, I made the christmas cake at the end of October, and am now just getting to the gingerbread men and rum balls and the white christmas and rocky road, and anything else that catches my eye on any of the thousand recipe newsletters I subscribe to!

So today I am making rum balls, only to discover I have no rum. Which is not surprising, as I’m not a fan of it at all – which I blame on my formative drinking years, in which rum seemed to be the old thing anyone drank, so it’s what everyone drank, if you follow me.

So as I was asking myself if it’s possible to get away with vodka balls or whiskey balls, that beautiful bottle of frangelico smiled at me from on top of the fridge, and I knew everything was going to be ok.

Here’s the recipe – you’ll find it’s pretty standard.

  • 1 packet Nice biscuits (25og)
  • 3 tblspns cocoa powder, sifted to remove lumps
  • 1/2 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2-3 tblspns frangelico (or rum, for the traditionalists)
  • extra coconut, in a bowl, for rolling

Break up the Nice biscuits and put in the blender. After you’ve pulverised them, add the cocoa in, making sure it’s completely mixed in.

Pour biscuit/cocoa mix into a bowl, and add everything else. Mix well.

This is where the fun (mess) starts: scoop up little amounts with a teaspoon and drop in the extra coconut bowl. It’s easier to roll a few at one time. Place them on a plate and sit them up close to each other to try to keep them in a ball shape, as they will lose their shape otherwise. Pop the plate in the fridge to set. Now make  a few more balls, and this is probably where you’ll give up on the spoon and use your fingers instead!

Of course, the more grown-up method of doing this would be to put the mixture in the fridge FIRST so it hardens up a bit, and then make the balls without getting chocolate goop all over you and your kitchen. But that wouldn’t be as much fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

