Reindeer rattle

With only a few hours to go, I finally finished the reindeer rattle! The antlers were the greatest challenge, being so little and also as I couldn’t find a pattern I liked (and because I’m seriously sleep deprived at the moment!).

I’m sharing my antler pattern below, as it’s really not that difficult but sometimes it’s just easier when someone else has already worked out the pattern for you.

Antlers for a reindeer

This reindeer has been hooked in  4 ply cotton with a 3mm hook and I used the Dog Rattle as the base of the rattle.

In an antler appropriate colour, chain 7.
Turn, dc into second chain, dc across (6 dc in total).
Now join the two ends by dc into first chain on other side.
Dc 4 rounds

Now you need to increase to branch out the antlers:
2 dc into first stitch, 1 dc into next, 2 dc into next 2 stitches,1 dc into next, then another 2 dc into the last stitch (10 stitches).

You now divide these into two groups of five for each antler branch. I use my darning needle to show me where the division is, and also because I go a little cross-eyed with small stitches and dark yarn!

For the first antler branch, dc 6 rounds and then tie off. For the second antler branch, dc 4 rounds to get the uneven look, the tie off. I stuffed the bottom part of the antlers before sewing it onto the rattle to help them stand up.

For larger antlers, use a 4mm hook and 8ply yarn, or 5mm hook and 10 ply yarn.

Chain as many as you need for your antler circumference. Turn  and dc into 2nd chain. dc across then join the two ends by dc into first chain on other side.
Dc as many rounds as you need for the height you want for your antlers before they branch off.

  • Just make a note of how many you do, so you can do it the same on the other side.
  • Depending on your antler size, you may want to stuff the bottom now, if if they’re quite large, arrange some wire inside the antlers to keep them standing up

Now you need to increase before branching out for the antlers:

For the little ones I went from 6dc, upto 10dc before then splitting to 5dc for the antler branch. Try to do something similar – increase to almost twice as many stitches, then you’ll halve those stitches to just less than you originally had.

A combination of 2dc in every second or third stitch will get you there, though you will need to do a quick sketch.

You now divide these into two groups for each antler branch. I use my darning needle to show me where the division is, and also because I go a little cross-eyed with small stitches and dark yarn!

For the first antler branch, dc 6 rounds, stuff it, and then tie off. For the second antler branch, dc 4 rounds to get the uneven look, stuff it, then tie off. You can, of course, make them as high as you like.

Pattern: Reindeer Antlers by Erin Douglas
Hook: 3.00mm
Yarn: 4 ply cotton
Leave a Reply

