Man scarf for Christmas

This scarf is very VERY simple, but you will need to keep count of your rows to get even squares!

I used 6.5mm (US 10 1/2) needles and Moda Vera Mousse yarn (which is 10 or 12 ply), but I wouldn’t use this one again, as it leaves little bits of fluff all over my partner’s suit – maybe a straight wool next time.

Pattern

Cast on 24 stitches

Row 1-5:  K4, P4
Row 6:  knit
Row 7-11:  P4, K4
Row 12: knit

Repeat until desired length – mine is 54 blocks long.

Gauge is not important, but if you feel the scarf is too narrow, then add more stitches in lots of 8, and if you feel it’s too wide, then reduce in lots of 8 – easy!

Update: This pattern also now features on http://www.squidoo.com/mens-patterns

15 responses to “Man scarf for Christmas

  1. Pingback: Basketweaving Scarf

  2. Thanks very much — I am a beginning knitter and this will be great for my brother’s gift this December! I’ve already started and it looks great.

  3. Thanks for the pattern. I made a shortened version for my husband and he loves it. I want to make a gray one as well.

  4. Just a small correction: In your pattern you say that if you add 4 more stitches (still divisible by 4) it will work. However I tried adding only 4 stitches and it did not work. I added 8 however and it worked just fine (probably because its a 4×4 rib). Just a minor correction. I really adore this pattern, its so beautiful!

    • Thanks for that Ivy – it’s always the small things that get overlooked in the checking of a pattern before it goes up! Glad you like it!

  5. question, because the yarn is not here in the US, is it bulky or worsted?

    Thanks for the help. B

    • Hi Bobbe,

      It’s a bulky yarn but the pattern is easily adaptable for any weight or needle size. As long as it’s as wide as you want it to be, then you’re fine!

      Cheers, Ren

  6. I’m making this pattern with a medium weight yarn on US size 8 needles. I cast on 40 stitches and it seems just wide enough. I should have done 48, but 40 will work. This pattern is very adaptable!

    Thanks,
    Dena

  7. I am a beginner knitter and don’t know all of the terminology yet, what does K4 P4 mean? I figure K4 means knit 4, but what could P4 mean?

    Thank you!

    • Hi Rachel,

      Welcome to knitting! This scarf is a great one to practice your stitches on – you’re right that K4 means knit 4 stitches, and the P4 is purl 4 stitches. To do purl stitches, after your last knit stitch, bring your yarn to the front of your needles and then do your 4 purls, then take the yarn to the back again to do the next 4 knits.

      This woman explains how to purl really well: http://www.youtube.com/watch?hl=en&v=MAMD_XpybQY&gl=US

  8. I just started knitting 3 weeks ago, and so far can manage to make simple scarves. Still haven’t gotten down blocking, so my nephew and a cousin are getting “rolled” ones. They’re little, it’ll be cute on them.

    BUT, I’m making THIS one for my step-son, who’s a bike messenger in Boston. I found a really great chunky wool in black. I only have a few days left to do it, but it’s so quick and easy, especially with the big yarn and size 13 needles! I think my husband’s jealous. I’ll post a photo (if I remember)! Thanks for sharing. My local knitting shop shared this site, I love it already!

  9. This scarf is so pretty and fairly simple to make. It’s a good idea to keep a notepad next to you to keep track of the rows and things. Really glad that I stumbled upon this pattern!

  10. Made this and really liked it. I did 5 rows of knit on each end and put some fringe on the end. Turned out really well 🙂 thanks

Leave a comment