pretty little flowers all in a row

I’ve recently learned to crochet, but have been at a bit of a loss as to what to make – I had grand visions of amigurumi critters all over the place, but that hasn’t really worked out as yet. Although I did see this great tutorial on magic circle cast on (or the crochet version of casting on) which I plan to try out on a cute owl critter.

So I’ve decided on flowers as they make for great brooches and hairpins and generally are easier.

crochet flowers

crochet flowers

These flowers started from this pattern. Any of these could have a brooch pin or safety pin attached

First flower – pink and red:

Pinkish bit – this bit is basically the pattern from above:

  • Single chain 6, join up with the first to form a loop
  • Double chain twice into each chain, so now you have 12
  • Single chain 6, then double chain to join back to loop, on the second chain (leaves a chain gap in between)
  • Repeat until you have petals all the way around
  • cast off/ knot off

Second, red bit:

  • with a second colour double chain into one of the chain gaps
  • single chain 8, then double chain into the next gap between the pink petals
  • Continue until there are petals all around
  • cast off / knot off

I then added a few double chains in the centre so that I would have something to attach the beads to.

Second flower – blue and purple:

Is pretty much the same as the first, only that I decided to avoid the hole in the middle by starting with a smaller loop and doing an extra round of double chain before the petals

Third and fourth flowers – red and blue:

Coming soon, but there are three rounds of petals

  • single chain 6, join up with first chain to form a loop
  • Double chain twice into each chain, so now have 12
  • round 1 – 6 chains per petal, then attach back to main circle by every second chain
  • round 2 – 8 chains per petal, then attach back to main circle by every other second chain
  • round 3 – 10 chains per petal, and attach back to main circle in the chains used by round 1
  • cast off / knot off

Download my pattern: flower-brooches

3 responses to “pretty little flowers all in a row

  1. Love it. Good small project for a beginner in crochet.
    Summergreetings from Denmark.
    Randi

  2. Oh my god enjoyed reading your post. I submitted your feed to my google reader!!

  3. very pretty!

Leave a comment